Little Gardening Miracles

I remember the day I discovered spring greens were not only a species of plant, but also offshoots from a number of brassicas after they had produced their main crop. If that’s not an amazing gardening 2 for 1, I don’t know what is.

I’m rather hoping that I can recreate this magic in my own garden. I naively planted cabbages, cauliflowers, purple sprouting broccoli and brussel sprouts without covering them. Now I have a garden of green lace, as the cabbage butterfly caterpillars weave their way in and out of the leaves. It’s going to be a long wait, but I’m willing to experiment rather than waste what could have been some wonderful vegetables.

This got me thinking. I’d seen the term cut and come again referring to lettuces. I think the context was in relation to growing little salad leaves. I had a few lettuce plants ready for the chop. I cut the heads off and left the stumps in the soil. After enjoying my home grown salad immensely (it always tastes better knowing you’ve grown something yourself), I noticed that the stubs left in the pots were sprouting after only a few days. Now, after a month, I have leaves ready for picking and a further row of sprouting stubs. Bargain! Here’s hoping the brassicas follow suit!

Sprouting lettuce stubs

Sprouting lettuce stubs

Lettuce Sprouts

Lettuce Sprouts

Sprouted Lettuce Leaves from Stubs

Sprouted Lettuce Leaves from Stubs

Green Lacy Cabbages and Sprouts Hoping for a Miracle

Green Lacy Cabbages and Sprouts Hoping for a Miracle

This entry was posted in Food, Garden, Life and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Little Gardening Miracles

  1. Haha, your lacy cabbages look eerily familiar… I, too, am going to have to learn to cover the poor things!

Leave a Reply

